International Online Film Critics’ Poll


Words by Naomi Jeffreys

The Awards season is just beginning, it started in the UK last week with the London Evening Standard Theatre Awards, which showcased the best British theatre talent we Brits have to offer.

The Film Awards are also beginning, and your Editor has been fortunate enough to be one of the Film Critics for the International Online Film Critics’ Poll 2012, for their third edition.

The films this year are between the years 2010-2012.

The Winners will be announced on the 20th December.

Check out the nominees below;

Best Film – Motion Picture

The Artist

The King’s Speech


The Master

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Best Director

Ben Affleck – Argo

Tomas Alfredson – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Paul Thomas Anderson – The Master

Terrence Malick – The Tree of Life

Steven Spielberg – Lincoln

Best Actor in a Leading Role

Daniel Day-Lewis – Lincoln

Jean Dujardin – The Artist

Colin Firth – The King’s Speech

Joaquin Phoenix – The Master

Gary Oldman – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Best Actress in a Leading Role

Elizabeth Holsen – Martha Marcy May Marlene

Natalie Portman – Black Swan

Meryl Streep – The Iron Lady

Tilda Swinton – We Need to Talk About Kevin

Quvenzhané Wallis – Beasts of the Southern Wild

Best Supporting Actor

Christian Bale – The Fighter

Bryan Cranston – Argo

Christopher Plummer – Beginners

Geoffrey Rush – The King’s Speech

Philip Seymur Hoffman – The Master

Best Supporting Actress

Amy Adams – The Master

Amy Adams – The Fighter

Bérénice Bejo – The Artist

Helena Bonham Carter – The King’s Speech

Melissa Leo – The Fighter

Best Cast


The Artist

The Fighter

The King’s Speech

Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Best Original Screenplay

Paul Thomas Anderson – The Master

Paddy Considine – Tyrannosaur

Sean Durkin – Martha Marcy May Marlene

Andrés Heinz, Mark Heyman and John McLaughlin – Black Swan

David Seidler – The King’s Speech

Best Adapted Screenplay

Lucy Alibar and Ben Zeitlin – Beasts of the Southern Wild

Bridget O’Connor, Peter Straughan – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Alexander Payne, Net Faxon and Jim Rash – The Descendants

Tony Kushner – Lincoln

Chris Terrio – Argo


Best Cinematography

Emmanuel Lubezki – The Tree of Life

Hoyte Van Hoytema – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Janusz Kaminski – Lincoln

Walter Pfister – The Dark Knight Rises

Guillame Shiffman – The Artist


Best Production Design

Rick Carter – Lincoln

Nathan Crowley, Kevin Kavanaugh – The Dark Knight Rises

Maria Djurkovic – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

David Crank, Jack Fish – The Master

Dennis Gassner – Skyfall


Best Film Editing

Tariq Anwar – The King’s Speech

William Goldenberg – Argo

Michael Kahn – Lincoln

Leslie Jones, Peter McNulty – The Master

Dino Jonsäter – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

Best Original Score

Ludovic Bource – The Artist

Alberto Iglesias – Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy

 Alexandre Desplat – The King’s Speech

Jonny Greenwood – The Master

Clint Mansell – Black Swan


Best Visual Effects

The Avengers

Black Swan

The Dark Knight Rises


The Tree of Life


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s