Dead Poets Society

Words by Naomi Jeffreys

A beautiful, lyrical film, starring Robin Williams. The Dead Poets Society was made in 1989 and was written by Tom Schulman (Honey, I Shrunk The Kids) and directed by Peter Weir (Master and Commander). Check out these wonderful quotes below:

Carpe diem. Seize the day, boys. Make your lives extraordinary.”

“O Captain, my Captain. Who knows where that comes from? Anybody? Not a clue? It’s from a poem by Walt Whitman about Mr. Abraham Lincoln. Now in this class you can either call me Mr. Keating, or if you’re slightly more daring, O Captain my Captain”

“Boys, you must strive to find your own voice. Because the longer you wait to begin, the less likely you are to find it at all. Thoreau said, “Most men lead lives of quiet desperation.” Don’t be resigned to that. Break out! “

“I went to the woods because I wanted to live deliberately. I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life.”

“To put to rout all that was not life; and not, when I had come to die, discover that I had not lived.”

“Thank you, boys. Thank you. “

One thought on “Dead Poets Society

Leave a Reply

